Colm

Colm grew up the son of two shepherds, close to Strand but in a valley that felt like a different world. Strand, even when Colm was a child, had grander ambitions, but Colm's village had none. They raised sheep there, that's what they were good at, that's what they did. Occasionally one of the children of the village would leave to seek their fortunes elsewhere, but for the most part you did what your father or mother or aunt or uncle did and trained you in.

Colm had shown signs of being a healer young; he was the best with small lambs and found that a lot of the skills transferred to his siblings. He could turn lambs that were being born wrong at ten, he could set broken limbs at twelve, and the town's healer took him as an apprentice, down near Strand, at sixteen.

Colm's greatest skill lay in care for the wounded, though. He was good at soothing, comforting, and the all important and indefinable skill of “bedside manner.”

For all of that, Colm had an emotional side. He felt things passionately his entire life, regardless of what he showed on the outside. Very few people got to see Colm react, ignite, explode.

Colm and Marion

Colm wasn't quite sure if Marion could read his mind, or if they had just known each other too long. Whatever the case, he had a hard time hiding things from her. He wasn't sure if he had kept this secret from her, but he felt that the time might finally be right.

“It's not,” Sonja said when he explained his plan to her.

“Now explain your white cloak,” she continued, ignoring his protestations.

“Oh, right. Um, I'm now officially a Sojourner healer.” Colm told her. “My master is writing to others, and we expect that in a few days he'll tell me where I'll be taking my sojourn. After last summer, with...” He trailed off. There was no reason to continue. Sonja knew exactly what had happened last summer, they would never forget it. “Anyway, after that event my master felt that my advancement was a sure thing, and asked me to stand his tests at midwinter solstice. I passed his tests and today the robe he made me arrived.”

“So now you are a white dove. Doves are gray. But it's a nice cloak, beautiful wings for you.”

Colm bit back all the pointless protestations, correcting Sonja yet again wasn't going to do anything.

She smiled and said “just wait, Dove. Now isn't the time.” And stood and left. By now Colm was used to the fact that Sonja's ideas about time and conversation flow were a bit off to one side of normal.

But Sonja was quickly put out of his mind, when Marion walked into the Fountain. She looked around and found him. Her smile was brighter than any of the lamps in the place as she made her way to his table.

“Look at you Sojourner Healer Colm!” she said and told him to stand up and turn around in a circle so she could look at him from every angle.

“The white cloak looks good on you, Colm.” She said and hugged him.

“Do you know where you're being sent for your Sojourn yet?” She asked after he had held her chair and then taken his seat again.

“Not yet. There are a few possibilities, but Master won't really tell me which ones. I said anywhere but the See, and he felt that was something he could do.”

“Colm, you can't hold the entire Church responsible for Aaron's actions.”

“I don't see why not.” Colm said, and took another drink of his mead. He was working on a “cure” for hangovers, which secretly just turned a lot of the alcohol in drinks back into sugar. So far he doubted it would catch on; his mead was far too sweet, even for a drink made out of honey.

“Colm, Aaron did what he thought was right, he is trying to follow the will of the Divine—”

“Marion, I love how patient and kind you are, to everyone, even to Aaron, but can we talk about something else instead?”

“Of course! What's on your mind, Sojourner?” She said, her eyes twinkling at him. Colm loved Marion's eyes, they were deep, deep brown, but seemed to have a lightness about them; he could study them for hours on end, hopefully forever.

Suddenly Colm realized he had just asked for a seague into a new topic and he only had one topic on his mind. “Ah, when you're done eating, can we go for a little stroll?” He asked. He had finished his meal earlier, when still talking to Sonja.

“Sure!” Marion said. She didn't, as a rule, eat all that much, partially because on her meager wage she couldn't afford all that much at the Fountain, but also because, even when food was free and plentiful, Marion ate like a bird. They talked of little things for a few minutes while she ate, then she stood, took his hand, and scattered a few coins on the table.

Colm followed Marion outside, holding her hand comfortably and calmly. They walked in silence for a little while, until they were outside of town, on the beach. They skirted the construction site where the new harbor was being dredged and piers being built, and went out to the wild beach to the south, all rocks and small sandy inlets.

The moon came out and shone on the gentle waves, stars all around it.

“Colm, before you say anything, I should answer first. The answer is 'not yet', and I know that's not what you want, but it's the right answer.” Marion said.

“Oh...but, I didn't even—”

“I know you didn't, but it's been on your mind all night, and even though I'm saying 'not yet' you have to know I'm not saying no. I don't think I will ever say no to you, Colm, even if you are a Sojourner in the most boring career in the world.”

Marion smiled and turned to Colm, standing in front of him, holding both his hands. “There are reasons, and they're important. Can you try to listen and focus while I explain?”

Colm nodded. Sometimes Marion spoke to him like he was a child, but this wasn't quite that. This was her hoping he'd be patient and not sink into his own self-doubt.

“Colm, before you ask your question, before I agree to it, there are things we both need to do. I've had a letter from Father; he says that Mother is not well, and won't see another winter. I need to go home.”

“Is it something...I mean, what's wrong with her? Is it something I can help with? Perhaps my sojourn could be—” But Marion touched a finger to his lips and he stopped.

“Colm, nothing is wrong with her! Death is a part of this life, of course, and she's nearing that gate. She's had a long, good life, but also a hard one, and she's ready to face what's next.”

“But maybe I could help her live a bit longer, she's not really that old—”

“Colm, I don't think you can understand this right now. You are a Healer, and your job is to improve people's lives. But sometimes that means letting them end. Mama wants me to come celebrate her life with her, and then she'll be off. And I can't do that if we're...if I'm too focused on our future.”

Colm bit back the twenty responses he had. Of course he could argue, he could be brilliant, but he'd learned that brilliant, airtight arguments weren't actually what convinced people. And by “people” he of course meant “Marion”. She would just accuse him of being “cold” and he would have to agree that he was being pushy. So he just listened.

“Also, dear Sojourner Dove, you need to focus. It took you six years to make sojourner, it should have taken you four. (Author's Note:Don't worry about contradictory dates right now, yeah?) You and your master are very kind, but I know full well that some of that is because you and I have been dating. I've been bad for your focus.” She smiled at him and kissed his cheek, then pulled his head down so she could wrap her arms around his neck. She felt him shudder and stroked his hair, letting him get the tears out. Finally, when his breathing was back to normal she let him stand up straight, and fixed his hair. Colm could see tears on her cheeks as well.

“Go do your Sojourn. I'll be here when you get back. I'll be here and waiting for you to come home, take your Cowl, and then I'll happily be the Healer's Wife wherever you get assigned.”

© 2020-2021 Nathanial Dickson. Written during #NaNoWriMo 2020 Contact me on Mastodon